November 27, 2006

  • INTRODUCING XANGA NETWORKS – BETA

    Introducing Xanga Networks, a more private way to keep in touch with groups of friends!

    A lot of people join Xanga to keep in touch with their friends at school, at church, at work… Wouldn’t it be great if there was an easy way to find and connect with each group of friends?  Some people have been using blogrings to do just that, but of course that can be less than private.  So we’ve created Xanga Networks, a more private/exclusive way to keep in touch.

    You can create a network for your high school, college, company, organization, or military group.  Best of all, *only* network members can access pages within the network.  In fact, you need a special key to join
    a
    network, such as a confirmed email address from that network – for
    example, name@somecollege.edu could be used to join the
    “Some College” network (note: this is not a real school ).  And if your
    network isn’t listed yet, you can simply create it and be the first to
    join!

    Thanks to Patrick, Xanga Networks is officially in beta
    testing – please check it out, and let us know what you
    think:

    Update: You can now check out the new Networks module on my site to see which networks I’ve joined!

Comments (156)

  • Very cool!
    I’ll work with it

  • My high school doesn’t have email addresses for the students, so would each person have to be confirmed as a member of the network by an administrator, etc? Or could there be levels of privacy for networks, i.e. a Wichita, KS network which would allow anyone who wished to join, while Kansas State University would require an email address or even the possibility for admin-level control. Can we make a post to just one of our networks, similar to how we can make them public or private, etc? Or a centralized posting area for a network with topic threads? How about a central page for blogrings or networks with something similar to featured content and most recent posts for just that network or blogring?
    So far the only problem with networks is that it’s too new and I’m the only one from my university who has joined. Good luck with it all!
    Dr. Carasco

  • I do use Xanga to keep in touch with friends. It’s much more fun than e-mails.

  • i want to goto Some College!

  • yay it’s Xangabook! =D

  • That’s awesome! Thanks!

  • I think public chatboards might be cool within networks. Just a thought. Peace. Pete.

  • :) Good ideas!

    Although I do hope that this doesn’t replace blogrings and makes xanga a completely cliquish ‘community’.

  • Seems like a pretty neat thing. We’ll see how we’ll it works. I do wonder if this attempt to be like facebook might not steer you in the wrong direction. No offense though.

  • Pretty damn cool. This is why I am still with Xanga.

  • I’ve just noticed that everytime I post a comment on someone’s site, an linked ad is being left with my comment. I hope that it is my browser and not something that Xanga is doing becuse it’s pretty damn cheesy.

  • I like that idea. I’ll work w/ it.

  • Happy Thanksgiving!

  • Hi.  I have a question for you.  On my layout site, I keep getting that notice that says I can’t sign in and to check back in 30-45 min.  I know why it does that….I changed my password recently, and I kept typing in my old one instead of my new one.  I like the security that this feature adds, but I think there’s a bug in it.  I tried it this morning, and then I went to work for a few hours, and I made absolute sure that the password was right, but it still doesn’t work.  I’ll try to wait another 45 min, but I’d like to know what’s going on.  Get back to me if you can, please.  Thanks

    -Aly B

  • Cool.. Worth a try…

  • how do networks get created? like, say I wanted to have a network for all the people in my churches youth group….. would that be possible?

  • nevermind! I found a link to create a network… you might want to make that more accessable, by perhaps puting a link on the networks front page.

  • *scratches head* Wait, I’m confused. I mean, I love the idea, but I don’t really get how it works. Is there a list of networks anywhere? It’s kinda hard to find anything . . .

  • This is a great idea.

  • we’ll see, networks need to be created first…hopefully the controls are in place.

  • Oh man….I hope this doesn’t replace the Blogrings!!!

    I’m not using this feature.

  • GMAIL users for the win

  • This is another cool upgrade. However…any chance of a “search your own blog entries”  option on the Xanga search engine? I have posts that are from 3 years ago, and I’d like to not have to figure out the date I posted it, then backtrack, and especially if I posted it protected…ya know? Those back entries are not tagged, and being that the first time I used tags I had a metric crapload of people hitting my site based on tags-searches I don’t really want to go back and tag them all so more strangers can read my blog based on a tags-search.

    Thanks for your consideration!

  • Meh…I won’t use this feature…but I would like to be able to join more than 8 blogrings at a time.

  • *weak smile*   More social networking.  Well I guess the really paranoid will absolutely adore this feature.

    Do you know, I remember (years and years ago now, say 2002) when Xanga was about writing and people were overjoyed that they had a presence on the World Wide Web, we even boasted that we had a Web Site!  It was so much the cherry on the cake to find that other people, strangers, happened upon us and enjoyed our writing enough to actually sub so that they could read more.

    Am I a Luddite, do you think?  Resisting the inexorable evolution of writing and making friends to hooking up and having enemies? From embracing the internet to cutting down the posse?  That we must have yet more ways to limit our circles of readers,  not proud of being on Featured Content, but boasting that our site is so unbelievably exclusive that it is only accessible to Holders of the of the Secret Password?Is this what blogging here has come to?

  • BTW:  What about something Really Useful like a button on each site you could hit to stop music and java apps from loading?  Very useful when you are blogging at work and like to keep that fact private. Not to mention that having to listen to other people’s looped music over your own carefully-chosen playlist is a total pain and, especially if the music/flash player isn’t the one you use, the machine freezes twice, once while it loads and again if you hit ‘comment’.

  • LETS GO FACEBOOOOOOOOOOOK!

  • I’m trying to create a network and it says my domain name is already associated with a network. But I have no clue which one and I’m obviously not part of it. And the search engine says there are no networks in existence at this point.

  • We also need a far far better instruction manual on how to do this. So far, it’s about as clear as mud in figuring out how to do this. Folks, if you’re gonna give new toys, have that part worked out first before it goes live.

    Sorry, it really is a great idea. I’m with Theologian. But when all you have in the FAQ is “this is a network,” you’re first problem is you’re not telling me enough information.

  • If I am part of a network, then I need the same email domain as the other members? Gee, doesn’t that mean I’m already part of that network? And what if my domain is yahoo.com.  It puts me in the network of the first lucky person who started their network, never dreaming it would include all of the yahoo.com email people.   

    Why not just give us the option to make group lists from our subs or friends?  FOr that matter, how is this any different from an email listserv that actaully works?  

    I would much rather be able to create more than one protected list.    I love the message feature, but would like to be able to choose from my sub/friends list with a check box (Like when you set up the protect lists) than to have to pick all at once, or type each name separately. 

    And I agree with a way to block music.  Some sites are so heavily loaded with dancing graphics and music that they take forever to load, then mess up my own playlist.   I would like an option similar to the ‘show other users icons’ in the comments.. .to ‘do not allow music to load automatically’.  

    I would like to not have to see dancing boobs on comment lists. 

  • I got a question i want that paris hilton picture of my site its driving me crazyyyyyyyyy

  • And I’m with CJ up there. I’d like to have more than 8 Blog Groups. That sucks. And I am paying for the service, so….

    PS–Why is it email never gets an answer from you people?

  • Does that mean people outside the network will be blocked from the members’ sites, or just that they won’t be able to find out who’s in the network?
    It’s an intriguing idea, though.
    Not that you’ll probably read this, you get so many comments.
    –Mr. H20

  •     Let’s not get too enthusiastic with the herding instinct here. As SavonDuJour said above, xanga was more about self expression than cliques, you shouldn’t forget that. If people want cliques, let them join MySpace or somewhere where it’s all about how many “friends” one has instead of the writing. Boosting & Featured Content is more than enough popularity contests.

  • Thanks For NetWork?

    Jessie Jago

  • what ev!

  • That so cool

  • I think its our job to support this… – ha..  great Idea..  I’m loving xanga more and more every day… what next?

    “ Live xanga? “

    I’d be the guinea pig

  • I don’t know why some people get frustrated when optional features are added.  Speaking of which, I think Xanga IM would be sweet.  

  • Kinda like Facebook, eh?

  • Kinda like Facebook, eh?

  • What a great idea, worth trying it out.

  • Hmm… sounds like a shameless ripoff of facebook… ;)

    I think I shall continue to use facebook for that and blogrings here on xanga.

    Thanks anyway for all your hard work. I’m sure others will jump all over it!

  • Is it just me or is Xanga becoming more and more like it’s rivals, Facebook and Myspace?

    Xanga just created “Networks” which is a distinct feature of Facebook.

    Can Xanga be original for once rather than copy things from Facebook and Myspace? That would be nice!

  • Hey, I saw you on my chart board and I wanted to visit your site again. I think you have met me before. My name is Alexis, I like your site, nice info you gave out. Please visit my site if you can. Well, got to go, bye-bye for now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    http://www.xanga.com/cute_pink_puppy

    12-1-06.

    Alexis.

  • Good idea.  Not sure how I would take advantage of it but it is something to think about!

    Tim

  • Ok, I don’t get it at all.  I got on the gmail network, and all I say is SO WHAT?  Why do I need to be on a network with a bunch of strangers that the only thing I have in common with is a gmail email address?   THat makes NO sense, Xanga.  None at all.  When I saw “networking” I thought, ‘great, I can put a network of historical fiction writers’ or ‘white mountain hikers’ together, and we can communicate in a group like setting ((See Yahoo – Groups )) . . .  but Noooooooo I only can network with people in the same email domain.  WHY??  And why would I want to network with people I work with? We have an intranet for that.  

    If you want to give us a useful networking tool, then don’t limit us to email domains.

  • Isn’t this just a more exclusive version of blogrings? And I tried it out, but it’s hard when I can’t scroll through my choices, it only lets me search??

  • mum….   cute girl !

  • hey

  • wonderful idea !

  • mary! i need some help in shutting down somebody´s xanga. any way you could make it possible? they have a picture of me on there that is spreading across the school and its not something that anyone would really want to see…

    PLEEASE help me the site is http://www.xanga.com/patterson544

    the picture i need taken off is the 2nd picture in his saved photos.

    thanks

    –sam

  • It says that a key is required, such as a e-mail address from that network. But what about networks that don’t have e-mail? How is the network created without the e-mail. The current interface doesn’t seem to allow for that.

    Thanks, and God Bless,
    Tom

  • hey!nice xanga:)

  • I think you have the right ideas about stuff, but I also think that you might be going a bit overboard at times. bfine107 mentioned that this might be trying to be more like Facebook and might be steering in the wrong direction. I have to agree. Xanga is a mix between Facebook and MySpace such that it’s not as open and random as MySpace but not as personal as Facebook. I think that these new types of features are making it more like Facebook and less like the xanga we all like to use. Maybe instead of coming up with new features, perfect the old ones.

    The effort is good though. =) Keep it up.

  • hi wats up

    nichole

  • Hope u have a great christmas or the other things u people celebrate.    bye

  • uhhh…okay….whatever

    xoxo,

    sexi lil me♥

  • oh an your xanga is well gay…sorry and i really dont like this whole network thing…

    xoxo,

    sexi lil me♥

  • people check out my xanga && please leave some comments on my stuff!!!

    xoxo,

    sexi lil me♥

  • Is there a way to make profile pics appear on the Read Subscriptions page? That would be a nice touch because sometimes I only know someone by their pic instead of their username.

    Troy

  • Um, I don’t know how I got here, but I really messed up my xanga, and I noticed other people asked you questions, so do you know how to get to the look and feel section if I made it, along with my profile and pretty much everything dippapere when I tried to put on a diffrent background?  If you could help me I would be oh so happy.  Thanks

    -B

  • COOL!! I WORK ON IT!!!

  • COOL!! I’LL TRY IT!!!

  • hey mary!

    don’t really know you, but i was thinking that i still like xanga more than myspace because people can actually write how they feel. it’s more personal and i like that. the thing most people like about myspace is the pictures. maybe you and the team could do something to make more pictures visible or something along those lines. also…maybe when you scroll over the xanga site of a friend under “subscriptions” it would be better if a little thumbnail picture of the person’s profile picture popped up. just something to think about!

    thanks for keeping xanga alive

    krista

  • yup.. the search function is too limiting… being able to view a list of networks, or networks by region/college/whathaveyou would be cool.

  • Xanga rocks my face off!

  • Yay this is such a good idea and about time too really!

  • NO ! !    I hope this beta, mary, does not replace Xanga.

  • your so cool!!!!!!!!!

  • hey whats up mary?

  • such a gorgeous pic of you!

  • cute site random props.

    good idea!

  • can you help me i have no idea what to do ?!?

  • Hey mary u kno the approved n’ disapproved buttons isnt workin.Could u fix dis?

    lol,Thanks,

    Cheza

  • Isn’t it a template ?!!

    wihtout quality sleep made me brain can think nothing ..

    still can’t sleep .. very tired .. especially on my eyes to use computer now.

  • this is nice…i am so joining

  • hi im new at this so i dont no what to do

  • michael shellum  like car

  • finally.. urgent on line payment has been done by him with thanks !

    i think if i can stay calm, many problems i can solve, unfortuately i can coz. i don’t have quality sleep.

    on the other side, here is quite silent like the early morning from my own home and feel free.

    i think the one is him who send me those notes and site.

    i am afraid of ask him any question for i feel he doesn’t like and before today (11/12/06)

    from the office when i started getting the emails and the things that from the site that appreared in the morning time and made me can feel what his thing on me.

    in before i only can felt that he is a KING but never be my friend and i already put my self respect to the ground so i cry and cry …again and again  coz. i found what was happened from my side and i can tell lie and i really feel pain and sick and chaos ..and finally need to stop 1 month in order to let myself can think about   -  ann kwok

  • Mary, you’re pretty cute, however, you remain with the same profile after all these years. How about a head shot for the kAzmAn???

  • Thanks for doing what you do, and keep responding to stimulus.

  • Y DIDNT? YOU KEEP IT LIKE DAT?

  • Great idea. Thanks!

  • i love your site  its soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cool infact i love it so much its  even better then mine

  • i was jw but idk how 2 close down an xanga plz cmb telin me how 2

  • and hopefully you will shut up sooner or later

  • its not that good srry

  • anga is the best website ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • i’m not sure how this works…?

  • Hey yall wat up….I  really  missed xanga!!:)

  • I think I greatly prefer Facebook’s network system; they provide lists of the available networks, so you don’t have to search for them. Also, the confirmation email thing that gets sent out often gets filtered as spam. My college email does not have a spam folder in the students’ inboxes, so there is no way for me to confirm anything. I like the idea of the networking thing here, but I think you should work something out with each individual college so that your confirmation emails don’t get lost in the mailroom.

  • this is soooo cool

    P.Sdo u have edvice to how to make new friends on xanga?

    megan

  • hey mary um how do u get a cool background !!!comment bak

  • wat is this????

    comment back pleaZ

        MARI*****

  • to many people are sending me things I really don’t understand??? I don’t even know how xanga fully works yet?!so please explain?!

  • your website is ok

  • im liking it!

  • awsome!

  • how does it feel being all involed with networks becuase it seems cool?!?!?!?

                           

                                              j

    j@$m!n3

  • Hi Mary!! Plz come 2 my site and post a comment and be my friend.

  • i think it’s great!

  • hey mary… hope the last leg of the pregnancy is going well…

    quick question about xanga… i realized that in my firefox browser, when i go to “my dash”, under “my weblog” it says “loading posts” but doesn’t show any of my previous posts… so basically, after i post something, i can’t go back and edit it… now it’s doing it in internet explorer too… help?

  • well umm i cant find my look and feel i screwd up lol!

  • what up so hows your BFF

  • Sweet, just one question. I homeschool, so, if I created a network would I have to go to school for that? I don’t really get it.

  •  HaHa!!!!!!!  Wow!!!    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!

                Got it!!!!!

  • sweet idea.

  • XANGA IS SOOOOOOOOOOOO COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL I TOLD ALL OF MY FRIENDS ABOUT THIS WEBSITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • how do i form a new network so we can work on a project privately?

  • um….

    it always says that a certain email is already associated with it

    it doesnt make sense

    please fix?????

  • I want to college!!!

  • Why can’t you use the same email address for different networks?

  • you work at xanga right? well theres this person that copied EVERYTHING from my site and claimed it as her own. if it not too much trouble could you please shut down her site? thank you.

  • <TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height=”100%” cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=”100%” border=0 UNSELECTABLE=”on”>
    <TBODY>
    <TR height=”100%” width=”100%” UNSELECTABLE=”on”>
    <TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width=”100%” background=”" height=250 UNSELECTABLE=”off”>o
    <TR UNSELECTABLE=”on” hb_tag=”1″>
    <TD style=”FONT-SIZE: 1pt” height=1 UNSELECTABLE=”on”>

  • awesum

  • i don’t know you but can you be my friend?my name is hannah.you can post comments to me.you can go to http://www.xanga.com/hannahxyoo to post a comment.happy new year!

  • HI JUST BROWSING!MNM<3

  • Dear xanga user,

    I have a site where you submit your problems/ etc. and i give advice to girls. It is free and I can be a great help. I give advice to girls from all around the country and I just made I brand new site and shut down my old one. please check me out!

    xoxo emma

  • xanga is the bomb

  • xanga is the bomb

  • I Think that you are like sooooo hottt

  • uhmm; rawwrrr= you rock.

  • duckiexlayouts jocked from duckies_lyts and that was very mean of her also made a blogring saying that duckies_lyts is a fake it is not fair for someone elses hardwork be jocked…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *